University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore courses, ranking and placement



About Us

University of Agricultural Sciences Bangalore, a premier institution of agricultural education and research in the country, began as a small agricultural research farm in 1899 on 30 acres of land donated by Her Excellency Maharani Kempa Nanjammanni Vani Vilasa Sannidhiyavaru, the Regent of Mysore and appointed Dr. Lehmann, German Scientist to initiate research on soil crop response with a Laboratory in the Directorate of Agriculture. Later under the initiative of the Dewan of Mysore Sir M. Vishweshwaraiah, the Mysore Agriculture Residential School was established in 1913 at Hebbal which offered Licentiate in Agriculture and later offered a diploma programme in agriculture during 1920. The School was upgraded to Agriculture College

in 1946 which offered four year degree programs in Agriculture. The Government of Mysore headed by Sri. S. Nijalingappa, the then Chief Minister, established the University of Agricultural Sciences on the pattern of Land Grant College system of USA and the University of Agricultural Sciences Act No. 22 was passed in Legislative Assembly in 1963. Dr. Zakir Hussain, the Vice President of India inaugurated the University on 21st August 1964.
Dr. Zakir Hussain in his inaugural address set forth the lofty objectives of the university in the following words:
“By bringing about significant improvement in every phase of rural life, by much needed change in methods of production, by influencing the whole outlook of the rural community and rural home, by giving them a new vision and new hope, this university will be able to make great contribution to national


It was Her Excellency Maharani Kempa Nanjammanni Vani Vilasa Sannidhi the Regent of Mysore in 1899 who donated 30 acres of land for Experimental Agricultural Station at Hebbal and appointed Dr Lehmann, German Scientist to initiate research on soil crop response with Laboratory in the Directorate of Agriculture. Later in 1906, Dr Leslie Coleman, Canadian Entolomologist and Mycologist who succeeded Dr Lehmann and served with missionary zeal for 25 years. This Experimental Station was allotted 202 acres with 30 acres of wetland, receiving rainfall of 808 mm later. In 1913, Sir M Vishveshwaraiah, the then Diwan of Mysore (1912-1919) played the key role in establishing the Mysore Agriculture residential School at Hebbal in 1913 and appointed Dr Leslie Coleman, the first Director of Agriculture, Mysore to head this School to offer Licentiate in Agriculture for 15 students annually. In 1946: Mr MA Srinivasan, Minister of Agriculture, took initiative to establish Agriculture College, Hebbal, for offering four year professional degree program in Agriculture affiliated to the University of Mysore. In 1956, Sri Kengal Hanumanthaiah, the Chief Minister, decided to construct a new building for Agriculture College, and laid the Foundation Stone on 25/Jan/1956. In 1961, GOI constituted Agricultural University Committee headed by Dr Ralph Cummings of Rockefeller Foundation. The Committee visited Hebbal Bangalore in June 1961 and submitted a favorable report for formation of Agricultural University at Hebbal. In 1963, Government of Mysore headed by Sri S Nijalingappa, CM, in April decided to establish UAS along the lines of Land Grant College system of USA and passed the University of Agricultural Sciences Bill (Act No. 22) which received assent of the President of India on 25th May 1963 to become the Law. The CM granted 1300 acres to Gandhi Krishi Vigjana Kendra Campus. In 1964, Government appointed Dr KC Naik, MSc, Ph.D (Bristol) working with USAID as the first Vice Chancellor on 12th June 1964.
The UAS was inaugurated by Dr Zakir Hussain, the Vice President of India on the 21st Aug 1964 in the august presence of Mr Chester Bowles, the then US Ambassador to India and Sri S Nijalingappa, the then CM. In 1969: Smt Indira Gandhi, the then Prime Minister, inaugurated GKVK campus on 12th July.
In 1958, Veterinary College, Hebbal was established. On October 1, 1965, the Colleges of Agriculture at Hebbal, and Dharwad, Veterinary College at Hebbal, 35 research stations located all over Karnataka and 45 ICAR schemes which were with the State Department of Agriculture, Horticulture, Animal Husbandry and Fisheries were transferred to the newly established University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore. Later, Marine Product Processing Training Centre (MPPTC) at Mangalore and the Krishi Vignana Kendra, Hanumanamatti, Dharwad district were transferred to the University.
The University established Fisheries College at Mangalore in 1969 to offer Bachelor of Fisheries Science training and the Agricultural Engineering Institute at Raichur to offer three year diploma in Agricultural Engineering.
In 1974, Home Science College was started to impart education in rural home science at Dharwad campus, besides establishing a College of Basic Sciences and Humanities and College of Post Graduate Studies at Hebbal.


Founded in 1964, University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore is a non-profit public higher education institution located in the the urban setting of the metropolis of Bangalore (population range of over 5,000,000 inhabitants), Karnataka. This institution has also branch campuses in the following location(s): Mandya, Hassan, Shimoga, Chintamani, Ponnampet. Officially accredited/recognized by the University Grants Commission, India, University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore (UAS Bangalore) is a small (enrollment range: 2,000-2,999 students) coeducational higher education institution. University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore (UAS Bangalore) offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as bachelor degrees, master degrees, doctorate degrees in several areas of study. This 53 years old H.E. institution has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students’ past academic record and grades. The admission rate range is 60-70% making this Indian higher education organization a somewhat selective institution. International students are welcome to apply for enrollment. UAS Bangalore also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including a library, sport facilities and/or activities, as well as administrative services.

Under Graduate Courses

The University offers 8 undergraduate degree programmes in the faculty of Agriculture.
These programmes are of 4 years duration, have been spread over at seven different campuses of the university.
Campus College Degree offered Year of start
GKVK Campus, Bangalore College of Agriculture B.Sc (Agri)
B.Sc (Ag.MaCo)
B.Tech (Ag.Engg)
Mandya Campus College of Agriculture B.Sc (Agri) 1991
Hassan Campus College of Agriculture B.Sc (Agri)
B.Tech(Food Sc)
Chintamani Campus College of Sericulture B.Sc (Seri) 1982


The research stations have an irrigated area of 319.15 ha and rainfed area of 456.25 ha. Each research station is provided with adequate laboratory / field, administrative buildings, threshing yard and power supply units to conduct research. The research faculty is provided with residential accommodation, health service facility and other civic amenities.


Address Gandhi Krishi Vignana Kendra Campus
560 065 Karnataka
Population range over 5,000,000
+91 (80) 233 32442
+91 (80) 233 30277
Other locations Mandya, Hassan, Shimoga, Chintamani, Ponnampet
error: Content is protected !!
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap