Rajendra Agricultural University Samastipur

Receive latest news and updates abou R.A UNIVERSITY Samastipur through e-mail or Sms, by entering your details below:


Founded in 1970, Rajendra Agricultural University is a non-profit public higher education institution located in the the rural setting of the large town of Samastipur (population range of 50,000-249,999 inhabitants), Bihar. Officially accredited/recognized by the University Grants Commission, India, Rajendra Agricultural University (RAU) is a coeducational higher education institution. Rajendra Agricultural University (RAU) offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as bachelor degrees in several areas of study. RAU also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including a library, as well as administrative services.


Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agriculture University (Earlier, Rajendra Agricultural University) was originally established as India’s first ever Imperial Agriculture Research Institute.

The foundation stone of the Agricultural Research Institute and college was laid by Lord curzon on the 1st of April, 1905. In his speech, the viceroy had expressed his vision that the seed he was planting would soon blossom out, making Pusa the nucleus of agricultural activities, research and education which would not only benefit Bihar and Bengal but the whole of the country and would attract the best of talents from India and abroad. In separate meeting with the Bihar Planters Association, he fervently hoped that the institute would-be of immense service to them in their grave hour of crisis caused by the German Indigo scientist.Lord Curzon left by the end of 1905 and Lord Minto was his successor. Till the last minute he had seen through each and every detail of the Pusa project which virtually was his brainchild. Incidentally one major issue on which he had not agreed was the architecture of the main building, its wings, vaults and arches but finally he gave his consent of course with a stint. Rightfully, Pusa received an imperial status in 1918, being renamed as the Imperial Agricultural Research Institute (IARI).

In 1934, after a major earthquake rocked Bihar and which severely damage the main buildings, the Imperial Institute was shifted to the new Pusa campus in New Delhi and that eventually became Indian Agricultural Research Institute. What remained was downgraded to an agricultural research station until December 3, 1970, when the government of Bihar established Rajendra Agricultural University.

On 11 May 2016 Parliament of India passed the Central University Bill.So RAU, Pusa has been up graded to central University and named as Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agriculture University.


There are five faculties in the university in the disciplines of Agriculture, Veterinary & Animal Sciences, Agricultural Engineering, Basic Sciences, Humanities & Home Science, besides the college of agriculture, fisheries and institute of dairy technology. The university offers six undergraduate degree programmes, thirty three post graduate programmes and eighteen Ph.D. programmes. It is also the only university to provide an MBA in Agribusiness programme.

Departments of University

  • Agronomy
  • Entomology
  • Agricultural Economics
  • Nematology
  • Soil Science
  • Extension Education
  • Plant Breeding and Genetics
  • Forestry
  • Plant Pathology
  • Agril Biotechnology and Molecular Biology
  • Microbiology

Constituent Centres of University


  • Tirhut College of Agriculture, Dholi, Muzaffarpur
  • College of Agricultural Engineering, Pusa
  • College of Basic Sciences & Humanities, Pusa
  • College of Home Science, Pusa
  • College of Fisheries, Dholi, Muzaffarpur


error: Content is protected !!
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap