Karnatak University Dharwad courses, ranking and placement

Receive latest news and updates about KARNATAK UNIVERSITY Dharwad through e-mail or Sms, by entering your details below:


Established in 1949, Karnatak University is a non-profit public higher education institution located in the the urban setting of the large town of Dharwad (population range of 50,000-249,999 inhabitants), Karnataka. Officially accredited/recognized by the University Grants Commission, India, Karnatak University is a coeducational higher education institution. Karnatak University offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as bachelor degrees in several areas of study. International applicants are eligible to apply for enrollment. Karnatak University also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including a library, online courses and distance learning opportunities, as well as administrative services.

Karnataka University (Kannada: ಕರ್ನಾಟಕ ವಿಶ್ವವಿದ್ಯಾಲಯ) is a central university located in the city of Dharwad in the state of Karnataka in India. It was established in October 1949, and officially inaugurated in March 1950. The campus spans 750 acres (3 km²). D. C. Pavate was the first official vice-chancellor from 1954 to 1967. The rapid development of the institution is credited to him.

The university was recognized with the “Potential for Excellence” by the University Grants Commission. The university is the second oldest university in the state of Karnataka after the University of Mysore. The Karnatak university once used to serve most of the Karnataka region including Dharwad, Belagavi, Uttara Kannada, Bijapur, Gulbarga, Raichur, Bidar and Bellary. Up until the 1980s (with the exception of the years from 1953 to 1965) the Manipal Institute of Technology and the Kasturba Medical College of Manipal were affiliated with Karnatak University at Dharwad and all degrees were awarded by Karnatak University.

The bifurcation of districts and establishment of new universities in this region has reduced the catchment of Karnataka university to the present day districts of Dharwad, Uttara Kannada, Haveri and Gadag.

Kousali Institute of Management Studies

Kousali Institute of Management Studies (KIMS) was established in 1976 as the Department of Management Studies, in recognition of professor Thammappa Kousali.[1] KIMS offers a Master of Business Administration 2-year full-time course, with specializations in finance, marketing and human resources. Intake for the MBA course is 60 students. KIMS also offers a Ph.D. program, with an intake is 16 students.

Postgraduate departments

The university has currently following faculties: science, management studies and social sciences. Medical science and engineering faculties were also present. However, the Government of Karnataka established Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences for medical science and Visvesvaraya Technological University for engineering.

Science departments

  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Electronics
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Statistics
  • Department of Library Science
  • Department of Applied Genetics
  • Department of Microbiology & Biotechnology
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Geology
  • Department of Sericulture
  • Department of Zoology
  • Department of Marine Biology
  • Department of Oceanography
  • Center for Excellence in Polymer Science
  • Research Center For DNA Diagnostics

Social Science Departments

  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Gandhian Studies
  • Department of A.I. History & Epigraphy
  • Department of Law
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Gender Studies
  • Department of Criminology & Forensic Science
  • Department of Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Department of Military Science
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Population Sciences
  • Department of Social Work
  • Research Center for Women’s Studies
  • Department of Sports
  • Department of Urban Design & Planning

Department of Management Studies

Master in Business Administration,

Master in commerce,

Master in Corporate Secretaryship

Arts Departments

  • Dr.R.C.Hiremath Institute of Kannada Studies
  • Department of Cultural Studies
  • Department of Folklore
  • Department of English
  • Department of Sanskrit
  • Department of Foreign Languages
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of Yoga Studies
  • Department of Music
  • Department of Kannada Research Institute

Post-graduation centers

  • Karnataka University PG Centre, Belgaum
  • Karnataka University Karwar PG Centre, Karwar. This centre has Marine Biology and Economics as subjects of excellence.
  • Karnataka University Bijapur PG Centre, Bijapur

Affiliated colleges

All colleges except those offering professional courses in the districts of Dharwad including Dharwad city colleges, Gadag, Haveri and Uttara Kannada are affiliated to Karnataka University, Dharwad.

Karnatak University’s five colleges in Dharwad area are referred as constituent colleges. Administration is in the hands of Karnatak University. However, the affiliated colleges are managed by trusts. Examinations, textbooks and results are conducted by the university.


G.S. Paramasivaiah (former student of the Nobel laureate CV Raman) was the first principal of the Karnataka Science College. He was also the secretary of KLE Society Belgaum. He played an important role in founding of Karnatak University.

In 1947, the government of Bombay Province made attempts to establish a university in northern part of Karnataka. As per the resolution No. 7914 of Education and Industries Department, the government of Bombay, a committee was constituted on April 17, 1947 to make recommendations regarding form, scope, constitution and jurisdiction of a university for Karnataka in northern region. Lingayat educationalists like G.S. Paramasivaiah along with S.S. Basavanal and S.C Nandimath were associated with the committee. The Karnatak University came into existence in 1949.

List of vice chancellors

From To Name
April 1949 July 1951 R. A. Jahagirdar
July 1951 July 1954 C. C. Hulkuti
1954 1967 D. C. Pavate
December 1967 December 1973 A. S. Adake
February 1974 January 1975 Jayalakshammani
May 1975 April 1978 R. C. Hiremath
May 1978 May 1981 Sadashiva Wodeyar
May 1981 June 1984 D. M. Nanjundappa
June 1984 June 1987 Sangappa G. Desai
July 1987 June 1990 G. K. Narayan Reddy
July 1990 July 1996 S. Rame Gowda
1996 2002 A. M. Pathan
July 2002 July 2006 M. Khajapeer
July 2005 24 October 2006 A. Murigappa (acting)
25 October 2006 24 October 2010 S. K. Saidapur
25 October 2010 June 2015 H. B. Walikar
16 June 2015 Incumbent Pramod Gai
error: Content is protected !!
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap