Dr. N.T.R. University of Health Sciences Vijayawada courses, ranking and placement



Founded in 1986, Dr. N.T.R. University of Health Sciences is a non-profit public higher education institution located in the the urban setting of the large city of Vijayawada (population range of 1,000,000-5,000,000 inhabitants), Andhra Pradesh. Officially accredited/recognized by the University Grants Commission, India, Dr. N.T.R. University of Health Sciences (NTRUHS) is a coeducational higher education institution. Dr. N.T.R. University of Health Sciences (NTRUHS) offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as pre-bachelor degrees (i.e. certificates, diplomas, associate or foundation degrees), bachelor degrees, master degrees in several areas of study. NTRUHS also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including a library, as well as administrative services.

Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences (NTRUHS; Telugu: డా.ఎన్.టి.ఆర్. ఆరోగ్యశాస్త్ర విశ్వవిద్యాలయము; IAST: Ḍā. En. Ṭī. Ār. Ārogyașāstra Vișvavidyālayamu), formerly Andhra Pradesh University of Health Sciences, is a public university in the city of Vijayawada, Andhra Pradesh, India.

It is named after its founder, former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N.T. Rama Rao.


The university was established as University of Health Sciences by the Government of Andhra Pradesh and was inaugurated on 9 April by N. T. Rama Rao, the then-Chief Minister of the state. It started functioning on 1 November 1986. Following the death of Rama Rao, a directive was issued by the Government of Andhra Pradesh to rename the university “Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences”, carried out on 2 February 1998. The university celebrated its silver jubilee from 1–3 November 2011.


There is a library and computer center where the library network is operated from. A guest house is available with different categories of accommodation for the faculty, examiners and visitors. The examinations section is housed in a separate area where special security electronically controls access, which can only be gained by authorised staff and security officers. A biometric-based electronic attendance system has also been institutionally implemented.

Admission and courses

The admission for the convener quota is based on an individual applicant’s rank based that individuals performance on the EAMCET.

The university has graduate and postgraduate degrees, diploma and super-specialty courses in modern medicine; graduate and postgraduate degree courses in dental surgery, nursing, Ayurveda, homeopathy, and Unani; graduate degree courses in naturopathy, physiotherapy and medical laboratory technology, as well as a postgraduate course (M.Sc.) in applied nutrition.

The number of colleges affiliated to the university since its establishment has risen from twenty-seven to 184. The degrees awarded by the university are recognized by professional statutory bodies, including the Medical Council of India, the Dental Council of India, the Central Council of Indian Medicine, the Central Council of Homoeopathy and the Indian Nursing Council.

The admissions into medical colleges for MBBS is as follows:

  1. For seats in government colleges, all seats will be filled by the convener based on EAMCET rank and the tuition fee is Rs 14,000 per annum for 2013-14.
  2. For seats in private colleges, 50% will be filled by the convener based on EAMCET rank and the tuition fee is Rs 60,000 per annum for 2013-14.

Another 10% will be filled by the convener based on EAMCET rank and the tuition fee is Rs 240,000 per annum for 2013-14.

The remaining 40% of seats are left to the management of private colleges. The Andhra Pradesh government has prescribed a fee of Rs 550,000 per annum for the management seat for 2013-14.

Affiliated colleges and Institutes

Government-run colleges

  • Andhra Medical College, Visakhapatnam
  • Gandhi Medical College, Secunderabad
  • Government Medical College, Ananthapur
  • Government Medical College, Nizamabad
  • Guntur Medical College, Guntur
  • Kakatiya Medical College, Warangal
  • Kurnool Medical College, Kurnool
  • Osmania Medical College, Hyderabad
  • Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Srikakulam
  • Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Adilabad
  • Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Ongole
  • Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Kadapa
  • Rangaraya Medical College, Kakinada
  • Siddhartha Medical College, Vijayawada
  • Sri Venkateswara Medical College, Tirupati
  • ACSR Government Medical College, Nellore
  • National Institute of Nutrition, Hyderabad
  • Army College of Dental Sciences, Secundrabad
  • ESIC Medical College,Sanathnagar,Hyderabad,Telangana State.


Address Ring Road, Gunadala
520 008 Andhra Pradesh
Population range 1,000,000-5,000,000
phone +91 (866) 245 1374
fax +91 (866) 245 0463


error: Content is protected !!
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap