Bharat Ratna Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University New Delhi

Receive latest news and updates about BRDBRA UNIVERSITY DELHI through e-mail or Sms, by entering your details below:


Established in 2007, Bharat Ratna Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University is a non-profit public higher education institution located in the the urban setting of the metropolis of New Delhi (population range of over 5,000,000 inhabitants), NCT of Delhi. Officially accredited/recognized by the University Grants Commission, India, Bharat Ratna Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University (AUD) is a coeducational higher education institution. Bharat Ratna Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University (AUD) offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as bachelor degrees in several areas of study. AUD also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including a library, as well as administrative services.

Bharat Ratna Dr. B. R. Ambedkar University, or in short Ambedkar University Delhi (AUD) was established by the Government of the NCT of Delhi through an Act of the Delhi Legislature. The University began functioning in August 2008. It is a Unitary non-affiliating University whose main focus is on undergraduate and postgraduate studies and on research in the Humanities and the Social Sciences. It is completely funded by the State Government of the NCT of Delhi The University is now declared eligible to receive Central Government Assistance. The university has been graded ‘A’ by National Assessment and Accreditation Council.

The AUD logo has a tree as the central motif. A tree is an organic system: it is rooted and stands for firmness, poise, dignity, refuge, wisdom and a yearning to reach out to the sky.

But this tree is not just any tree. The particular tree in the logo is a faithful adaptation of the Bodhi tree depicted on a panel in the iconic Sanchi Stupa complex, which is considered an emblematic architecture of Buddhism and dates back to Emperor Asoka’s time. The Bodhi tree symbolizes enlightenment. The choice of the Bodhi tree as the central element of the AUD logo is in recognition of Dr B.R. Ambedkar. Ambedkar’s own association with Buddhism as a symbol of liberation. In that sense the tree in the AUD logo is both a sign of rootedness and of enlightenment, Superimposed on the Bodhi tree motif is a stylised version of a diamond-shaped configuration of the letters A, U and D which takes advantage of their unusual rotation symmetry. Liberation through enlightenment is the goal and foundational ethic of AUD and the logo embodies it completely.


AUD is a multi-campus University with planned facilities across the city. AUD presently has two campuses – in Kashmere Gate and in Karampura, where 40 undergraduate, postgraduate and research programmes are currently on offer.

The Kashmere Gate campus is housed in the erstwhile Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University campus, along with Indira Gandhi Delhi Technical University. The historical campus originally built for Delhi College of Engineering also houses the 300-year-old Dara Shikoh library. It is located close to the Delhi Vidhan Sabha, Old Delhi Railway Station, St. James’ Church, Delhi and Red Fort. It is accessible by the red and the yellow line of Delhi Metro. It is a five minutes walk from the Kashmere Gate metro station.

The Directorate of Higher Education, Government of the NCT of Delhi is in the process of handing over the old campus of Deen Dayal Upadhyaya College of University of Delhi in the Karampura area of West Delhi to AUD. Deen Dayal Upadhyaya College will move to its new campus in Dwarka.

Future Plans

More undergraduate and postgraduate programmes will be launched in the Karampura campus from 2017-18 onwards. It is expected to accommodate approximately 2200 students by 2019.

The University is developing two new campuses in Rohini Sector 3 and in Dheerpur. These campuses will be ready by 2020.The 110 acre Dheerpur campus will include a 60-acre biodiversity park to conserve the wetlands. The future campus is planned to be energy-efficient, ecologically-frugal and disabled-friendly. It will include academic, residential, recreational and social facilities for students and staff.


  • School of Undergraduate Studies
  • School of Development Studies
  • School of Human Ecology
  • School of Human Studies
  • School of Culture and Creative Expressions
  • School of Design
  • School of Business, Public Policy and Social Entrepreneurship
  • School of Educational Studies
  • School of Law, Governance and Citizenship
  • School of Liberal Studies


  • Centre for Community Knowledge
  • Centre for Development Practice
  • Centre for Social Science Research Methods
  • Centre for Early Childhood Education and Development
  • Centre for Psychotherapy and Clinical Research
  • Centre for Urban Ecology and Sustainability
  • AUD Centre for Incubation, Innovation and Entrepreneurship


error: Content is protected !!
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap