Berhampur University Berhampur

Receive latest news and updates about BERHAMPUR UNIVERSITY BERHAMPUR through e-mail or Sms, by entering your details below:


Established in 1967, Berhampur University is a non-profit public higher education institution located in the the rural setting of the medium-sized city of Berhampur (population range of 500,000-1,000,000 inhabitants), Odisha. Officially accredited/recognized by the University Grants Commission, India, Berhampur University is a coeducational higher education institution. Berhampur University offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as bachelor degrees in several areas of study. Berhampur University also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including a library, online courses and distance learning opportunities, as well as administrative services.


Berhampur University(Odia: ବ୍ରହ୍ମପୁର ବିଶ୍ୱବିଦ୍ୟାଳୟ) Accredited by NAAC with “A” Brahmapur, Odisha, India. Berhampur University is the first and only state funded University with that distinctive achievement.

Dr. S C Jamir, Governor of Odisha & Chancellor of Berhampur University and Professor Rajendra Prasad Das Vice-Chancellor


Berhampur University came into existence on January 2, 1967. Celbrating its Golden jubile Year 2016 under the stewardship of Professor Rajendra Prasad Das Hon.ble VC. The campus is spread over an area of 250 acres. The university is twelve kilometres and five kilometers away from the Berhampur City and beach of Gopalpur respectively.

Professor Rajendra Prasad Das is the present Vice-Chancellor, who took charge on August 4, 2016. He is a Management Professor in the field of Human Resource Management and Business Administration.

The university has a wide area under its jurisdiction comprising the districts of Ganjam, Gajapati, Koraput, Rayagada, Nowrangapur, Malkangiri, Kandhamala and Boudh. Eleven government colleges, 62 non-government colleges and 26 professional technical colleges are affiliated to the university. hese institutes. The university caters to the need of students in subjects and disciplines like Arts, Science, Commerce, Law, Education, Medicine, Engineering, Pharmacology, Homoeopathy, Ayurveda, Nursing, Military Science, Library Science and Fine Arts.

There are twenty postgraduate departments in the university offering specialized subjects and M. Phil programmes. Some of the faculties are Mass Communication, Tourism and Indian Monuments, Electronic Science, Computer Science, Marine Science, and Military Science.

The university offers M. Phil., Ph.D., D. Litt and D. Sc degrees. So far many projects, major and minor funded by the UGC, ICSSR., CSIR DST, and NIRD. etc. have been completed. About 250 research oriented and text books have been published by the teachers. Several UGC sponsored Refresher Courses/Orientation Programmes/Summer Institutes are conducted in the university for the benefit of the university and college teachers.

The university has received reciprocal recognition from many Indian universities. It is a permanent member of the Inter University Board of India and Sri Lanka and the Association of Common Wealth University of London. The university received NAAC accreditation with *A* Grade on 25 May 2016

At present the campus has eight teaching blocks, eight hostels, PG Council, a health centre, an engineering office, a guest house, an ME school, a high school/junior college, a library, a museum-cum-archival cell, an air strip, a playground, a Sports Council centre, a gym, a shopping complex, a canteen, an SBI branch, a post office, an administrative building, a College Development Council, a Distant Education Centre, Women’s Studies Research Centre, convocation theater, seminar hall, NSS Bureau, UGC Coaching Scheme Centre and SC/ST Cell.

The university started year Long Golden Jubilee functions on 2.1.2016

Several faculty members have gone abroad for postdoctoral research, to Japan, the USA, Switzerland and Belgium. Many faculty were awarded Commonwealth Academic Staff fellowships, while many visited the USA, UK, Europe, Canada and Japan on short term visits.

Odisha CM in April 2015 took a step forward for empowering the autonomous status of the affiliated colleges and four colleges affiliated to Berhampur University — Chhatrapur College, Shashi Bhushan Rath Government Women’s College, Binayak Acharya College and Gopalpur College and will get grants from RUSA (Rashtriya Uchchattar Shiksha Abhiyan) for infrastructure development.[2]


The present campus is known as Bhanja Vihar, named after one of the greatest poets of Odisha, Kabisamrat Upendra Bhanja. Spread over an area of about 250 acres (1.0 km2), the university is about twelve kilometres away from the city of Berhampur and about six kilometres from Gopalpur beach.

Self-financing courses

The university has self-financing courses in professional programmes such Master of Social Work(MSW), Pharmacy (M.Pharma), Electronic and Computer Sciences, Master of Finance and Control(MFC) and Biotechnology and Bioinformatics.

Add-on courses

  • Communicative Skills
  • Personality Development
  • Computer Skills

Notable alumni

Pradeep Kumar Panigrahy, Hon.Minster for Higher education Govt of Odisha [3]

Arun K. Pati, Professor at Harish-Chandra Research Institute and Notable Quantum Physicist

Satya Brahma, Chairman, India Leadership Conclave, Network 7 Media Group

Distance learning

The university offers courses in the distance education mode to make educational facilities available to working people at modest fees. MA English, MA Telugu, MA Potlical Science, MBA,MCOM


Faculty of Arts and Humanities

  • Political Science
  • Economics
  • Master of Social Work
  • Geohysics
  • History
  • Home Science
  • HRM ( MA IRPM)
  • English
  • Marine Science
  • History Tourism Management
  • Oriya
  • English
  • Linguistics
  • Mass Communication & Journalism
  • Music and Theater
  • Urban and Rural Development

Faculty of Science

  • Anthr
  • Computer Science & Information Technology
  • Marine Science
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Botany
  • Bioinformatics
  • Ecology
  • Food & Nutrition Science
  • Soil & Water Science
  • Geology
  • Geophysics
  • Genomics
  • Geography & Environment
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanics
  • Oceanography
  • Electronics
  • Pharmacy
  • Psychology
  • Statistics
  • Zoology

Faculty of Management

  • Business Administration (MBA, PGDBM)
  • Master of Commerce
  • MBA in Finance and Control (Self financing mode)
  • Post Graduation in Industrial Relations&Personnel Management (HRM)
  • Master of Social Work (Self financing mode)
  • Disaster and Emergency Management

Faculty of Law


  • Master of Law (LL M)
  • Bachelor of Law (LLB)



error: Content is protected !!
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap