Banasthali Vidyapith Banasthali courses, ranking and placement

Receive latest news and updates about BANASTHALI VIDYAPITH through e-mail or Sms, by entering your details below:


Founded in 1935, Banasthali Vidyapith (Banasthali University) is a non-profit private higher education institution located in the the rural setting of the medium-sized town of Banasthali (population range of 10,000-49,999 inhabitants), Rajasthan. This institution has also branch campuses in the following location(s): Jaipur. Officially accredited/recognized by the University Grants Commission, India, Banasthali Vidyapith (BU) is a medium-sized (enrollment range: 8,000-8,999 students) women only higher education institution. Banasthali Vidyapith (BU) offers courses and programs leading to officially recognized higher education degrees such as pre-bachelor degrees (i.e. certificates, diplomas, associate or foundation degrees), bachelor degrees, master degrees, doctorate degrees in several areas of study. This 82 years old H.E. institution has a selective admission policy based on entrance examinations and students’ past academic record and grades. The admission rate range is 50-60% making this Indian higher education organization a averagely selective institution. International students are welcome to apply for enrollment. BU also provides several academic and non-academic facilities and services to students including a library, housing, sport facilities and/or activities, financial aids and/or scholarships, study abroad and exchange programs, as well as administrative services.


Banasthali Vidyapith was founded on October 6, 1935 by eminent freedom fighters and educationists, Pt. Hiralal Shastri and Smt. Ratan Shastri. The institution is known for its dedication to the cause of women education and was declared as an institution ‘deemed to be university’ in 1983. While NAAC has re-accredited Banasthali Vidyapith at the highest possible ‘Grade A’ level in 2011, the ‘Review Committee (Tandon Committee) of Ministry of HRD’ also appreciated the overall efforts of Vidyapith in the areas of Institutional Governance, Academic Achievements, Research, Student Progression, Infrastructure etc. and categorized Banasthali Vidyapith under ‘Category A’ list of ‘Institutions deemed to be university’ in 2010.

The Vidyapith has had virtual autonomy for its school programmes since the beginning and was affiliated to an outside agency for its university programmes in 1983. In 1983 the government of India, on the advice of the University Grants Commission, notified the Vidyapith as an institution deemed to be university.

After attaining university status, The Vidyapith restructured its undergraduate programme. At the postgraduate level, it introduced courses in Computer Science, Operational Research, Electronics and Biotechnology. Teacher Education and Management have been started. New courses include M.Sc. (Bio-Informatics), M.Sc. (Pharmaceutical Chemistry) and M.Sc. (Applied Microbiology).

Along with professional programmes such as MBA and MCA, all postgraduate courses in the Faculty of Science have a semester system. From 2004 all Social Science, Humanities and Home Science Post-graduate programmes have been run as semester courses.

Corporate social responsibility grants

The Vidyapith has improved its infrastructure vastly. Much of this was made possible by generous support of the Vidyapith’s well-wishers. State Bank of India, Mahindra and Mahindra, Bajaj Foundation, ICICI Bank, Kanoria Group, Bank of Nova Scotia, Artech-Dalmia etc. have provided generous philanthropy under corporate social responsibility (CSR).

Banasthali Vidyapith is the first University in India that has started ‘Centre for Financial Planning Training and Research for Women’ and has started receiving CSR grants from corporate to support financial literacy for women through free workshops, e-learning modules and knowledge creation through research papers, course inclusion in MBA/BBA and doctoral research in financial planning.


It is 72 km southwest of the capital Jaipur of Rajasthan. Newai is a major town close to the university.


The main statutory bodies of Banasthali Vidyapith are:

  • General Council
  • Executive Council
  • Finance Council
  • Academic Council


  • President
  • Vice-President
  • Vice-Chancellor
  • Pro Vice-Chancellor
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Deans, including Deans/Heads of the Centres of Higher Education
  • Co-ordinator, School Education


  • AIM & ACT
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Fine Arts
  • Faculty of Home Science
  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Management Studies
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Social Science


The National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) accredited Banasthali University with ‘A’ grade – the highest possible grade. The Ministry of HRD has listed the university under the top ‘MHRD A Category.’

Faculty awards

Dr. Swati Shastri, Assistant Professor in the Department of History and Indian Culture received two international awards in 2016 : Journalist Bimalendhu Barua International Peace Prize from the Nirvana Peace Foundation, Bangladesh and International Enviro Care Ambassador Award from World Fellowship of Buddhist Standing Committee on Environment, Thailand and one international award in 2017 : Global Creative Mind Award from MIIBS and WABL, Thailand.


A rigorous All India Universities’ Survey by AC Nielsen-India Today in 2012 ranked Vidyapith at Ist position (Factual Rank). If aspects like exclusive dedication to women education, fully residential character, rural surrounding amidst its campus of 850 acres, range of courses from Nursery to Ph.D., national representation of students, focus on Indian ethos & culture are considered in totality, than there is no institution like Banasthali Vidyapith. Banasthali Vidyapith has been registered under the Indian Societies Registration Act 1860.

Notable alumni

  • Kamla Beniwal, governor of Gujarat
  • Smt. Meira Kumar, speaker of Loksabha
  • Smt. Saagarika Ghosal, Chief People Officer of Reliance Entertainment,
  • Avani Chaturvedi, one of IAF’s first women fighter pilots


error: Content is protected !!
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap