Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare is an Indian government ministry charged with health policy in India. It is also responsible for all government programs relating to family planning in India.

The Minister of Health and Family Welfare holds cabinet rank as a member of the Council of Ministers. The current minister is Shri. Jagat Prakash Nadda. The Ministry regularly publishes the Indian Pharmacopoeia since 1955 through Indian Pharmacopoeia Commission (IPC) an autonomous body under the ministry for setting standards for drugs, pharmaceuticals and healthcare devices and technologies in India.

Ministry of Health and Family Welfare

 Agency overview

Formed 1776
Jurisdiction Republic of India
Headquarters Cabinet Secretariat
Raisina Hill, New Delhi
Agency executives
  • Jagat Prakash Nadda, Minister of Health
  • Faggan Singh Kulaste, Minister of State for Health
  • Anupriya Patel, Minister of State for Health


See Also : NEET UG 2022-A Complete Guide for Medical Courses Aspirants

Read Also : Ramkrishna Welfare Nursing & Paramedical Institute, Patna


Ministry of Health and Family Welfare Composition

The ministry is composed of two departments: Departments of Health and Family Welfare, Department of Health Research.

Department of Health

The Department of Health deals with health care, including awareness campaigns, immunisation campaigns, preventive medicine, and public health. Bodies under the administrative control of this department are:

  • National AIDS Control Organisation (NACO) (see HIV/AIDS in India)
  • 13 National Health Programmes
    • National AIDS Control Programme (AIDS) Department Of Aids Control (National AIDS Control Organisation) (Details About Aids)
    • National Cancer Control Programme (cancer)
    • National Filaria Control Programme (filariasis)
    • National Iodine Deficiency Disorders Control Programme (iodine deficiency)
    • National Leprosy Eradication Programme (leprosy)
    • National Mental Health Programme (mental health)
    • National Programme for Control of Blindness (blindness)
    • National Programme for Prevention and Control of Deafness (deafness)
    • National Tobacco Control Programme (tobacco control)
    • National Vector Borne Disease Control Programme (NVBDCP) (vector-borne disease)
    • Pilot Programme on Prevention and Control of Diabetes, CVD and Stroke (diabetes, cardiovascular disease, stroke)
    • Revised National TB Control Programme (tuberculosis)
    • Universal Immunisation Programme
  • Medical Council of India
  • Dental Council of India
  • Pharmacy Council of India
  • Indian Nursing Council
  • All India Institute of Speech and Hearing (AIISH), Mysore
  • All India Institute of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AIIPMR), Mumbai
  • Hospital Services Consultancy Corporation Limited (HSCC)
  • Food Safety and Standards Authority of India
  • Central Drugs Standard Control Organization

Department of Family Welfare

The Department of Family Welfare (FW) is responsible for aspects relating to family welfare, especially in reproductive health, maternal health, pediatrics, information, education and communications; cooperation with NGOs and international aid groups; and rural health services. The Department of Family Welfare is responsible for:

  • 18 Population Research Centres (PRCs) at six universities and six other institutions across 17 states
  • National Institute of Health and Family Welfare (NIHFW), South Delhi
  • International Institute for Population Sciences (IIPS), Mumbai
  • Central Drug Research Institute (CDRI), Lucknow
  • Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR), New Delhi: founded in 1911, it is one of the oldest medical research bodies in the world

Department of AYUSH

Department of AYUSH is no more under Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, it has elevated as Ministry of AYUSH with effect from 9 November 2014.

The Department of Ayurveda, Yoga and Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoeopathy (AYUSH) deals with ayurveda (Indian traditional medicine), yoga, naturopathy, unani, siddha, and homoeopathy, and other alternative medicine systems.

The department was established in March 1995 as the Department of Indian Systems of Medicines and Homoeopathy (ISM&H). The department is charged with upholding education standards in the Indian Systems of Medicines and Homoeopathy colleges, strengthening research, promoting the cultivation of medicinal plants used, and working on Pharmacopoeia standards. Bodies under the control of the Department of AYUSH are:

  • Research councils
    • Central Council for Research in Ayurveda and Siddha (CCRAS)
    • Central Council for Research in Unani Medicine (CCRUM)
    • Central Council for Research in Homoeopathy (CCRH)
    • Central Council for Research in Yoga and Naturopathy (CCRYN)
  • Educational institutions
    • National Institute of Ayurveda, Jaipur (NIA)
    • National Institute of Siddha, Chennai (NIS)
    • National Institute of Homoeopathy, Kolkata (NIH)
    • National Institute of Naturopathy, Pune (NIN)
    • National Institute of Unani Medicine, Bangalore (NIUM)
    • Institute of Post Graduate Teaching and Research in Ayurveda, Jamnagar, Gujarat (IPGTR)
    • Rashtriya Ayurveda Vidyapeeth, New Delhi (RAV)
    • Morarji Desai National Institute of Yoga, New Delhi (MDNIY)
  • Indian Medicine Pharmaceutical Corporation Limited (IMPCL), Mohan, Uttaranchal (a public sector undertaking)
  • Professional councils
    • Central Council of Homoeopathy (CCH)
    • Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM)


See Also : MBBS Admission at Qualifying Marks(150 to 200) | States to Consider | Budget | College options

Also Read : Top Private Medical Colleges in India with Low Fees for 2022-23: A list with state and fees


2 thoughts on “Ministry of Health and Family Welfare”

Leave your enquiry here :

error: Content is protected !!
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap