All India Council for Technical Education- AICTE

All India Council for Technical Education

The All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) is the statutory body and a national-level council for technical education, under Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development. Established in November 1945 first as an advisory body and later on in 1987 given statutory status by an Act of Parliament, AICTE is responsible for proper planning and coordinated development of the technical education and management education system in India. The AICTE accredits postgraduate and graduate programs under specific categories at Indian institutions as per its charter.

It is assisted by 10 Statutory Boards of Studies, namely, UG Studies in Eng. & Tech., PG and Research in Eng. and Tech., Management Studies, Vocational Education, Technical Education, Pharmaceutical Education, Architecture, Hotel Management and Catering Technology, Information Technology, Town and Country Planning. The AICTE has its new headquarters building in Delhi on the Nelson Mandela Road, Vasant Kunj, New Delhi, 110 067, which has the offices of the chairman, vice-chairman and the member secretary, plus it has regional offices at Kanpur, Chandigarh, Gurgaon, Mumbai, Bhopal, Baroda, Kolkata, Guwahati, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Chennai, and Thiruvananthapuram.

In its 25 April 2013 judgment the Supreme Court said “as per provisions of the AICTE Act and University Grants Commission (UGC) Act, the council has no authority which empowers it to issue or enforce any sanctions on colleges affiliated with the universities as its role is to provide guidance and recommendations. Subsequently AICTE was getting approval from the Supreme court to regulate technical colleges on a year to year basis till January 2016, when AICTE got blanket approval for publishing the Approval Process Handbook and approve technical colleges including management for the session 2016-17 and in all future sessions.

All India Council for Technical Education

 Abbreviation AICTE
Formation November 1945
Headquarters New Delhi
Location Thiruvananthapuram, Kolkata, Chennai, Kanpur, Mumbai, Baroda, Chandigarh, Guwahati, Bhopal, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Gurgaon
Main organ Council
Affiliations Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development
Remarks Dr. Anil Sahasrabudhe, Chairman


See This : NEET Cutoff, Previous Year Trends, Marks & Rank, Government, Private Colleges

Read Also : NEET Result 2022 Dates, Official Site, Link, Marks & Rank Card


The AICTE Act of 2004

AICTE is vested with statutory authority for planning, formulation and maintenance of norms and standards, quality assurance through school accreditation, funding in priority areas, monitoring and evaluation, maintaining parity of certification and awards and ensuring coordinated and integrated development and management of technical education in the country as part of the AICTE Act No. 60 of 2004.

The AICTE Act, stated verbatim reads:

To provide for establishment of an All India council for Technical Education with a view to the proper planning and co-ordinated development of the technical education system throughout the country, the promotion of qualitative improvement of such education in relation to planned quantitative growth and the regulation and proper maintenance of norms and standards in the technical education system and for matters connected therewith.

AICTE bureaus

The AICTE comprises following bureaus, Namely:

  • e-Governance (e-Gov) Bureau
  • Approval (AB) Bureau
  • Planning and Co-ordination (PC) Bureau and Academic (Acad) Bureau
  • University (UB) Bureau
  • Administration (Admin) Bureau
  • Finance (Fin) Bureau
  • Research, Institutional and Faculty Development (RIFD) Bureau
  • Apart from this there are 10 Board of Studies dealing with technician, vocational, undergraduate engineering, postgraduate engineering and research, architecture, town and country planning, pharmacy, management, applied arts and crafts, hotel management and catering technology education.

For each bureau, adviser is the bureau head who is assisted by technical officers and other supporting staff. The multidiscipline technical officer and staff of the Council are on deputation or on contract from government departments, University Grants Commission, academic institutions, etc.


Increase in approved institutions

Growth of Technical Institutions in the Country

Year Engineering Management MCA Pharmacy Architecture HMCT Total
2006–07 1511 1132 1003 665 116 64 4491
2007–08 1668 1149 1017 854 116 81 4885
2008–09 2388 1523 1095 1021 116 87 6230
2009–10 2972 1940 1169 1081 106 93 7361
2010–11 3222 2262 1198 1114 108 100 8004
2011–12 3393 2385 1228 1137 116 102 8361
2012–13 3495 2450 1241 1145 126 105 8562
2013–14 3384 2450 1241 1031 105 81 8562
2014–15 3392 2450 1241 1025 114 77 8562
2015–16 3364 2450 1241 1027 117 77 8562
2016–17 3288 2450 1241 1034 115 74

Growth of Seats in different Programs in Technical Institutions

Year Engineering Management MCA Pharmacy Architecture HMCT Total
2005–06 499697 32708 4379 4435 541219
2006–07 550986 94704 56805 39517 4543 4242 750797
2007–08 653290 121867 70513 52334 4543 5275 907822
2008–09 841018 149555 73995 64211 4543 5794 1139116
2009–10 1071896 179561 78293 68537 4133 6387 1408807
2010–11 1314594 277811 87216 98746 4991 7393 1790751
2011–12 1485894 352571 92216 102746 5491 7693 2046611
2012–13 1761976 385008 100700 121652 5996 8401 2236743


In 2016 three important initiatives were taken up by AICTE. First one was a responsibility given by MHRD to evolve a national MOOCs platform SWAYAM. Second one is that of launching a Smart India Hackathon-2017 challenging the young bright talented students of technical colleges to solve the 598 problems of 29 different Government departments. Third one is that of launching of a AICTE’s Student Start up Policy by Hon. President on Nov 16, during visitors conference from rashtrapati Bhavan. In 2009, the Union Minister of Education formally communicated his intentions of closing down AICTE and related body, the University Grants Commission (UGC). This later led to reforms in the way the AICTE approves institutes, and to establishing the National Board of Accreditation (NBA) as an independent body. As of 2013 the AICTE still operates.


See Also : What is MBBS and Course Details?

Also Read : What is Deemed Universities MBBS Fees Structure 2022?

See This : Things to Know About MBBS in Abroad


5 thoughts on “All India Council for Technical Education- AICTE”

Leave your enquiry here :

error: Content is protected !!
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap